Parliamentary Republic
Population: 2.2 million
Click here for the latest updates from Latvia

Head of State

Andris Bērziņš (President)
2011 – present
Union of Greens and Farmers

Head of Government

Valdis Dombrovskis (Prime Minister)
2009 – present
Unity Alliance

Governing party
Unity Alliance (New Reform Party, Civic Union and Society for Other Politics), with Zatlers’ Reform Party and National Alliance

Parliamentary elections
Last: September 2011
Next: September 2015

Presidential elections
Last: June 2011
Next: June 2015

Current Saeimau (100 total seats)
Harmony Centre (31)
Unity Alliance (20)
Zatlers’ Reform Party (16)
National Alliance (14)
Union of Greens and Farmers (13)
Others (6)

Comments are closed.

Click the image above to download a handy up-to-date WGE summary


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.