Parliamentary Republic
Population: 10.8 million
Click here for the latest updates from Greece

Head of State

Karolos Papoulias (President)
2005 – present
Panhellenic Socialist Movement

Head of Government

Antonis Samaras(Prime Minister)
2012 – present
New Democracy

Governing party
New Democracy, Panhellenic Socialist Movement and Democratic Left

Parliamentary elections

Last: 17 June 2012
Next: June 2016 (latest possible)

Presidential elections

Last: 3 February 2010
Next: February 2015 (expected)

Current Hellenic Parliament (300 total seats)
New Democracy
129 seats
Νέα Δημοκρατία (ND)

Coalition of the Radical Left
71 seats
Συνασπισμός Ριζοσπαστικής Αριστεράς (SYRIZA)

Panhellenic Socialist Movement
33 seats
Πανελλήνιο Σοσιαλιστικό Κίνημα (PASOK)

Independent Greeks
20 seats
Ανεξάρτητοι Έλληνες

Golden Dawn
18 seats
Χρυσή Αυγή

Democratic Left
17 seats
Δημοκρατική Αριστερά (DIMAR)

Communist Party of Greece
12 seats
Κομμουνιστικό Κόμμα Ελλάδας (KKE)

Comments are closed.

Click the image above to download a handy up-to-date WGE summary


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.