Parliamentary Republic
Population: 5.3 million
Click here for the latest updates from Finland

Head of State

Sauli Niinistö (President)
2012 – present
National Coalition Party

Head of Government

Jyrki Katainen (Prime Minister)
2011 – present
National Coalition Party

Governing party
National Coalition Party, with Social Democratic Party, Left Alliance, Green League, Swedish People’s Party of Finland and Christian Democrats.

Presidential elections
Last: January 2012
Next: January 2018

Parliamentary elections
Last: April 2011
Next: April 2015

Current Eduskunta (200 total seats)
National Coalition Party (44)
Social Democratic Party (42)
True Finns (39)
Centre Party (35)
Left Alliance (12)
Green League (10)
Swedish Group (10)
Christian Democrats (6)
Others (2)

Comments are closed.

Click the image above to download a handy up-to-date WGE summary


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.