Economic and Political Union
Population: 503.8 million
Click here for the latest updates from the European Union

President of the European Commission

José Manuel Barroso
2004 – present
Social Democratic Party (Portugal)

Presidency of the Council of the EU

July 2012 – December 2012

President of the European Council

Herman Van Rompuy
2009 – present
Christian Democratic and Flemish (Belgium)

Parliamentary Elections

Last: 4-7 July 2009
Next: July 2014

Current European Parliament (736 total seats)
European People’s Party
265 seats
Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats
185 seats
Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe
84 seats
European Conservatives and Reformists
56 seats
The Greens–European Free Alliance
55 seats
European United Left–Nordic Green Left
35 seats
Europe of Freedom and Democracy
27 seats
29 seats

Comments are closed.

Click the image above to download a handy up-to-date WGE summary


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.