Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy
Population: 10.4 million
Click here for the latest updates from Belgium

Head of State

King Albert II (HM the King)
1993 – present
House of Belgium

Head of Government

Elio Di Rupo (Prime Minister)
2011 – present
Socialist Party

Government of Belgium

Socialist Party
with Christian Democratic and Flemish, Reformist Movement, Open Flemish Liberals and Democrats, Socialist Party – Differently and Humanist Democratic Centre

Parliamentary Elections

Last: 13th June 2010
Next: June 2014 (Latest possible)

Current Chamber of Representatives (150 total seats)
New Flemish Alliance
27 seats
Nieuw-Vlaamse Alliantie (N-VA)

Socialist Party
26 seats
Parti Socialiste (PS)

Christian Democratic and Flemish
17 seats
Christen-Democratisch en Vlaams (CD&V)

Reformist Movement
15 seats
Mouvement Réformateur (MR)

Socialist Party – Differently
13 seats
Socialistische Partij Anders (sp.a)

13 seats

Open Flemish Liberals and Democrats
13 seats
Open Vlaamse Liberalen en Democraten (Open Vld)

Flemish Interest
12 seats
Vlaams Belang (VB)

Humanist Democratic Centre
9 seats
Centre démocrate humaniste (cdH)

Comments are closed.

Click the image above to download a handy up-to-date WGE summary


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.